Railway Bonus Cleared for 11.41 Lakh Staff After Record Traffic

Railway bonus announcement involving Indian Railways staff and train operations

The Union Cabinet has approved a 78-day Productivity Linked Bonus for around 11.41 lakh eligible railway employees, clearing a total payout of Rs 2,009.61 crore after the Railways reported strong passenger and freight operations in 2025-26.

The maximum bonus payable to an eligible employee will be Rs 17,951. The payment covers non-gazetted railway staff across several operational and technical categories, including track maintainers, loco pilots, train managers, station masters, supervisors, technicians and other Group C employees.

The annual railway bonus is paid ahead of the Durga Puja and Dussehra holidays. According to the government information cited in the report, the payment is intended to recognise railway employees’ contribution and incentivise operational performance across the national rail network.

The approved payout comes against a year in which Indian Railways recorded freight loading of 1,670 million tonnes and carried nearly 7.41 billion passengers, according to the government. These figures cover the 2025-26 period and place the employee payment alongside the scale of the railway system’s passenger and freight responsibilities.

The bonus will apply to eligible non-gazetted employees rather than the entire railway workforce. The categories listed include staff responsible for maintaining tracks, operating trains, managing stations and supporting technical systems. Their work directly supports the functioning of passenger services and freight movement, although the supplied report does not provide a department-wise breakdown of the payout or the number of employees in each category.

The decision also highlights the administrative link between railway operations and workforce incentives. A railway system carrying billions of passengers and more than a billion tonnes of freight depends on a large operational workforce spread across stations, train services, maintenance activities and technical facilities. The Cabinet approval establishes the overall payout and eligibility coverage, while the maximum individual amount is linked to the prescribed wage calculation for eligible employees.

The Railways’ passenger and freight figures provide the operational context for the announcement, but the supplied information does not specify how the 2025-26 performance was measured for the purpose of determining the 78-day bonus. It also does not state when individual employees will receive the payment.

The Cabinet’s approval clears the Productivity Linked Bonus for disbursement to the eligible railway employees. Further payment details, including the release schedule and employee-level processing, were not provided in the supplied report.


Recent tabs widget still need to be configured! Add tabs, add a title, and select type for each tab in widgets area.