Delhi Protest Detentions End in Court Release, But Dates Remain Unclear

A Special Executive Magistrate court directed Delhi Police to release three Cockroach Janta Party (CJP) activists after they were detained at Indira Gandhi International Airport while travelling to Delhi for a proposed protest at Jantar Mantar, according to The Hindu. The newspaper’s report contains conflicting references to the date of their release and requires confirmation before publication.

The three activists—Abhijeet Dipke, Saurav Das and Ashutosh Ranka—were detained for about 24 hours, according to the report. They were brought before the magistrate at around 9 a.m. after being detained at the airport on October 10.

The proposed demonstration was intended to demand the resignation of Chief Election Commissioner Gyanesh Kumar. Delhi Police had refused permission for the gathering at Jantar Mantar and increased security in the city to prevent protesters from assembling at the designated venue, The Hindu reported.

The court directed the police to release the three men. Their advocate, Soutik Banerjee, informed the newspaper that the activists had been released. CJP office bearers said the release was subject to a condition that the three would not “indulge in any activity that breaches peace and tranquillity for the next year”.

The report does not provide the text of the magistrate’s order or clarify whether the condition was imposed through a formal bond, undertaking or another legal mechanism. It also does not specify the statutory basis for the detention or the police grounds for refusing permission for the demonstration.

The case reflects the administrative tension that can arise when planned political demonstrations intersect with restrictions on public assembly and security arrangements in central Delhi. Jantar Mantar is a designated protest venue, but access to it remains subject to police permission and operational restrictions. The supplied report does not state whether the proposed demonstration was cancelled, relocated or otherwise proceeded after the detentions.

The report also refers to separate arrests involving four men who allegedly claimed links to the Hindu Raksha Dal after a video appeared to show a man and a woman being assaulted. No further details about that case are provided in the supplied material.

The Hindu’s copy includes conflicting references to the release date: it identifies the court direction as occurring on Sunday, October 11, while a later passage refers to the activists being released on Sunday, October 12. The date, the precise terms of the release condition and the police’s formal explanation require confirmation from the court record or Delhi Police before the report can be published as a fully verified news story.



Recent tabs widget still need to be configured! Add tabs, add a title, and select type for each tab in widgets area.